About Blue Trident
 About the Staff
Contact Us
About Rick Riordan


Main Series
 The Lightning Thief
 The Sea of Monsters
 The Titan's Curse
 The Battle of the Labyrinth
 The Last Olympian
Short Stories
 The Stolen Chariot
 The Bronze Dragon
 The Sword of Hades
Graphic Novels
 The Lightning Thief
Companion Books
 The Demigod Files
 The Ultimate Guide


Main Series
 The Lost Hero
 The Son of Neptune


Related Books
 Demigods and Monsters
 Tales of the Greek Heroes


 The Lightning Thief


 Character Biographies
 Greek Mythology
 Video Games
 Random Stuff


This website is Copyright 2006-2012 Christine Standley.
Percy Jackson and the Olympians and all names and related indicia are Copyright 2005-2012 Rick Riordan and associated parties. All copyrights, trademarks and registered trademarks are legal property of their respective owners. No infringement of Copyright is intended.



NA hardback | NA paperback & re-issue hardback | Movie tie-in edition

UK hardback | UK paperback | UK re-issue paperback


The Lightning Thief is the first book written by Rick Riordan in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series. The story is narrated in the first-person by the main protagonist, Percy Jackson.

The Lightning Thief has won several prestigious awards around the globe, including the Mark Twain Award 2008 (Missouri Association of School Librarians; US), the Red House Children's Book Award Winner (UK), and the National Council for Teachers of English, Publishers Weekly National Children's Bestseller (US).

A deluxe edition of the book was released on 3rd November 2009 and contained eight full-colour illustrations by the cover artist of the North American books, John Rocco. It came in a blue slipcase with a turquoise ribbon bookmark and a cloth cover. A graphic novel edition of the book, adapted by Robert Venditti with art by Attila Futaki, was released on 12th October 2010.

The Lightning Thief has been adapted and made into a feature film directed by Christopher Columbus with the screenplay written by Craig Titley. The film was released in North American and British cinemas on 12th February 2010.


Also Known As  Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief
Book Number  One
Publishers  Hyperion Books for Children (NA)
 Thorndike Press (NA Large Print)
 Puffin Books (UK)
Release Dates  NA hardback - 28th June 2005
 UK hardback - 1st September 2005
 NA paperback - 1st April 2006
 UK paperback - 4th May 2006
 NA reissue hardback (w/Rocco art) - 28th July 2007
 UK reissue paperback - April 2008
 Deluxe - 3rd November 2009
 NA Movie-tie in - 5th January 2010
 UK Movie-tie in - 7th January 2010
R.R.P. Prices  $17.95 [hardback]; $7.99 [paperback] (US)
 $23.95 (Canada)
 12.99 [hardback]; 5.99 [paperback] (UK)
Dedication  To Haley, who heard the story first.


Plot Summary

<coming soon...>


Chapter Titles

1. I Accidentally Vaporize My Pre-algebra/Maths Teacher
2. Three Old Ladies Knit the Socks of Death
3. Grover Unexpectedly Loses His Pants/Trousers
4. My Mother Teaches Me Bullfighting
5. I Play Pinochle with a Horse
6. I Become Supreme Lord of the Bathroom
7. My Dinner Goes Up In Smoke
8. We Capture a Flag
9. I Am Offered a Quest
10. I Ruin a Perfectly Good Bus
11. We Visit the Garden Gnome Emporium
12. We Get Advice From a Poodle
13. I Plunge to My Death
14. I Become a Known Fugitive
15. A God Buys Us Cheeseburgers
16. We Take a Zebra to Vegas
17. We Shop for Waterbeds
18. Annabeth Does Obedience School
19. We Find Out the Truth, Sort Of
20. I Battle My Jerk Relative
21. I Settle My Tab
22. The Prophecy Comes True



<coming soon...>



Anaklusmos PE

Camp Half-Blood Wiki

HBC News

More Affiliates...

Online since 19/07/2006